Keepsakes

I’ve always been a sentimental sap. Even as I increasingly desire to minimize and purge “stuff,” I struggle with sentimental items. Things from my childhood and the things that my children are creating and collecting now are important to me! I keep their hand tracings, first drawings, paintings, and more.

I believe it was our second day in Ladybug’s country that one of Ladybug’s caregivers offered us an invaluable gift: Ladybug’s keepsakes. She presented us with items that Ladybug has drawn and colored and created over the last year or so of her life.

When she handed me the pile, I gingerly leafed through everything. “We can take these things with us?” I asked, incredulously.

She shrugged. “Only if you want them.”

“Oh! Of course I want them! Thank you so much!”

So now, beyond the future we will create together with Ladybug, we have even more of her past to help her hold on to. Amazing.

**********

I wanted to photograph everything to document here and to have in case the originals are lost. Enjoy this precious two-year-old artwork 🙂

DSC_0125 DSC_0126 DSC_0127 DSC_0128 DSC_0129 DSC_0130 DSC_0131 DSC_0132 DSC_0133 DSC_0134 DSC_0135 DSC_0136

 

Leave a Reply

