The Birth Story of Bumblebee

To me, her mother, Bumblebee’s story is one of great depth. God used my sweet, second daughter to show me His goodness in a powerful way. Not only my pregnancy with her safely growing and growing each day, but also in the way He provided for us during my labor and her birth.

I’m writing her story for me. And for her. I don’t want to forget any detail. That said, if you aren’t into details, then feel free to skip over. I know it’s long.

To aptly share Bumblebee’s story, I have to start somewhere before November 29, 2013. Chris graduated pharmacy school the day I turned 13 weeks pregnant with Bumblebee, and we spent the summer waiting on God to open doors. We were anticipating a move, a new job, and hoping for plenty of time to prepare for baby. As it turns out, waiting took a while, with Chris starting his job August 28 and our closing on our house September 30, eight-and-a-half weeks before Bumblebee’s arrival.

Chris's graduation from pharmacy school. Week 13

Chris’s graduation from pharmacy school. Week 13

My first belly photo at our new home. Week 32.

My first belly photo at our new home. Week 32.

I received my prenatal care at Mountain Midwifery Center in Englewood. I couldn’t have been happier with the compassionate and competent midwives and nurses there. I certainly intended for baby Bumblebee to be born at MMC; but as it turned out, our move also took us a little further from Denver than we had anticipated. I vacillated between peace and concern over anticipating making a 2.5 hour drive to the birth center. There were so many variables! Would Chris be at work or not? Would Poppy be in the car with us or not? Would I “know” it was time before labor began to intensify or not? Would we make it to the birth center or not?

At every appointment with my midwives from about halfway through my pregnancy on, the topic of our drive and the distance came up. Usually because I brought it up – either with a new question or “what if?” – or even just to have their reassurance. Because they had been the only birth center in the state for quite some time, they’ve been used to women traveling from distances that might make another provider uneasy. They also shared that it never seemed to be the mamas who had a long way to travel who delivered in the car. It was the women who lived close enough to think they had time to make “one more stop” or squeeze in “one more errand” or spend just a little bit more time at home before driving to MMC. Another thing I learned that was so helpful was that rapid childbirth happens when things are going well, delivery wise. The protocol for all MMC women is to be educated on rapid childbirth. So, if baby were to come in the car, we had a plan and knew what steps to take – and what not to worry about.

Totally not glowing while I was painting in our new home.

Totally not glowing while I was painting in our new home.

The midwives never ceased to be supportive and encouraging. I was able to draw on their strength, and yet, I don’t know how many times I tried to let God know what the perfect scenario would be for Bumblebee’s birth. I was constantly up and down between praying, “God, you love me and know what this baby and I need” and “Hey God, you know that my parents will be here this weekend? That would be so convenient!” I had prayed against prodromal labor, too, because I didn’t want the added confusion or variable of needing to discern pre-labor signs from early labor signs. And yet, I did have a great deal of braxton hicks contractions and prodromal labor for many weeks.

There were a few nights that I was so sure we would be making the drive to Denver, and yet the contractions always fizzled out. Also, it seemed any time I spend a good amount of time in the car, I experienced regular braxton hicks.

All of this was enough to make me spin. Add in that Poppy came 8 days early, and the few weeks before my due date I was a little bit of a mess. There seemed to be much to deal with, and I know that any pregnant woman waiting for labor can empathize. Those last weeks can be rough emotionally! I also was still trying to set up our home, hosting an early Thanksgiving, painting bedrooms, and so on and so on.

My final belly photo with baby Bumblebee. Week 39.

My final belly photo with baby Bumblebee. Week 39.

On November 25, I had my 39 week appointment with Midwife Gina. Bumblebee measured spot on, but baby’s heart rate had decreased from the usual 150s to 130. I remembered that when I was pregnant with Poppy and friends and family were guessing her gender and birth date, one friend had shared that because Poppy’s heart rate dipped, she felt baby would come soon. I definitely had that in the back of my (hopeful) mind! Otherwise, the appointment was uneventful.

My mom arrived the next day, a Tuesday, and planned to stay at least through Friday as Thanksgiving was Thursday. The day she arrived was pretty good. My emotions felt a little more even, and I experienced less frequent but consistently intense contractions. That night, I awoke because of some strong contractions. The following two days were more of the same. We celebrated Thanksgiving quietly – Chris, Poppy, my parents, and me. My dad left that evening, and the rest of us went to bed, definitely in a state of anticipation and planning and wondering.

Around 1:30 in the morning on the Friday after Thanksgiving (my due date), I awoke to a contraction that forced me to rock on hands and knees until it passed. The contractions remained somewhat time-able and intense for about an hour. I went ahead and showered to relax some, and then I returned to bed. I then had one of the most amazing contractions where I could completely feel the contraction start at the top. Bumblebee squirmed into place, and the intensity and contraction dropped low. It was so amazing to feel my body and baby working together in that way.

First round of contractions.

First round of contractions.

I continued to have similar contractions as I dozed off and on until about 6:00 in the morning. I wasn’t really sure what to think because the night had started out on a familiar note, mirroring somewhat the way labor began with Poppy. But, with Poppy, we were calling my OB by 6:00 in the morning. Additionally, once the rest of the house started to wake up, I became quite distracted and the contractions appeared to decrease in intensity and become more irregular. However, even though I was beginning to think that I wasn’t in early labor yet, I decided it would be wise to call the midwife on call before Chris left for work. I didn’t want to lose any precious time should the midwife decide I needed to come in.

Well, Gina happened to be the midwife on call; and after hearing how my night went and knowing my distance from MMC, she advised me to come in. She expected me around 11:00 AM. Chris and I loaded up quickly, me feeling somewhat silly and reserved yet excited. We left my mom and Poppy at the house with instructions to follow along at their own pace. No hurry. I even suggested that maybe my mom feed Poppy a little bit of an early lunch so that Poppy girl would nap on the drive to Denver. That’s just what she planned to do. We left about 8:45-8:50 AM.

I hadn’t had a contraction since I called in at 8:30, and I had a huge and stressful break in contractions until 9:20. It flat out drove me crazy. I was convinced that I had a false alarm. Thankfully, I was finally able to doze off since I had been up most of the night. That’s all it took for me to relax and get my mind out of the way so my body and baby could resume their dance. Contractions resumed, and we made a pit stop halfway through our drive at 10:00 AM. I had a very strong – I love how each contraction seems super strong until you have the next one 🙂 – contraction while we were stopped, as well as some show when I went to the bathroom. I was elated because I felt justified in our making the drive when we did. I still didn’t know if I felt like Bumblebee would arrive that day, but I knew we were getting pretty close!

We arrived to MMC, somewhat sheepishly, at 11:50. Nurse Susan took us back to the blue room as our presumed room-of-choice – the log room – was occupied by new parents and their baby girl when we arrived. Bumblebee’s heart rate was at 120. I had more show in the bathroom. Chris and I lay together on the bed and rested, waiting for Gina to come check my progress. I prayed like crazy that I was further dilated than a 1 or a 2. A 3 would’ve felt somewhat acceptable to me, but I was really hoping for at least a 4. A 4 it was, along with 70% effacement. Bumblebee was at station -2, but Gina reassured me that the station wasn’t as telling for second-time mamas. Baby squirmed during the exam, and I continued to have some normal-ish contractions.

Walking toward the entrance of Mountain Midwifery Center. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Walking toward the entrance of Mountain Midwifery Center. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Gina let us know that even though I was definitely not in active labor, we weren’t leaving Denver without our baby and advised us to go have lunch. After lunch, she suggested finding some place to just go take a walk and relax. So, that’s what we planned to do. We were given instructions to know follow protocol as if we were local – so as a second-time mama, I was to call back to MMC when I was experiencing contractions on a 6-1-1 scale (every six minutes, lasting for at least 1 minute, continuing on for at least an hour). We left the birth center at 12:45, nearly an hour after arriving.

I was definitely not in active labor if I could leisurely grab this photo of my stats upon checking in.

I was definitely not in active labor if I could leisurely grab this photo of my stats upon checking in.

Chris just resting while we waited for the midwife.

Chris just resting while we waited for the midwife.

When we left that house that morning, we had debated about when we should call our friend and birth photographer. She also had quite the drive, but I didn’t want to interrupt her day-after-Thanksgiving plans with her family unnecessarily. As it turned out, she wasn’t far behind us. She and her boyfriend (now fiance!) met us in the parking lot. We couldn’t make any promises as to what would happen when, but they agreed to hang out “on call” and hope that things started picking up soon. We parted ways then.

Chris and I decided to eat at Red Robin. I love their crispy chicken tender salad and, while I was hungry, I was hesitant to eat too heavily and was definitely experiencing some aversions. And Chris is my burger guy – so it was perfect! We made the 15 minute or so drive back over to the edge of Aurora where we used to live when Poppy was born. It was so surreal to be going out to lunch at a time like that, but it really did seem like the best option!

I continued to have the same type of mild contractions while we ordered and waited for our food. When it came, I was able to start eating, but about halfway through, I experienced a contraction that had me climbing the booth to try to find a comfortable position. I ended up with my legs tucked under me, bracing myself, and breathing through it, very glad that the lunch crowd on Black Friday was relatively light. I definitely didn’t want an audience! After the contraction subsided, my anticipation soared! I tried to eat a bit more but experienced 2 more similar contractions 6 or so minutes apart each.

I quickly realized that I wouldn’t be able to labor comfortably at Red Robin and asked Chris to box the rest of my salad and get us ready to leave while I excused myself to the bathroom for a moment. If the previous three contractions felt like active labor, then what I experienced in the bathroom – contractions over a minute long coming every 2-3 minutes – sure felt like the start of transition!

I barely made it out of the restaurant and into the car, telling Chris quite determinedly that we were going straight back to MMC and I didn’t care that we hadn’t met the 6-1-1 rule yet. I labored on hands and knees in the back seat of the car, using my pillows and door handle to try to stabilize against the stop and go of the traffic. Chris called the birth center again to let them know we were on our way back. We’d been gone less than 2 hours at that point. He told me later they seemed willing if not hesitant that I should be returning so soon.

I hated that car ride. After all my stressing about laboring in the car, I realized after those twenty minutes or so that I was completely justified. Ha! Laboring in the car is no joke.

Arriving at the birth center this time went completely differently. We got straight to business with very little chit chat as Susan quickly helped me to the bed and immediately began hip compressions as I labored hands and knees with my face into the pillow. She was such great support. When I started to tense up, breathe too shallowly, or whine, she reminded me to breathe, told me what a good job I was doing, and encourage me to make low sounds and moan rather than whine through the contraction.

Susan doing her thing. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Susan doing her thing. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

At one point, she let me know she was checking my purple line. Now, I’d read about this and the part of me that wasn’t completely off in labor land was pretty excited and intrigued. Purportedly, the purple line is a non-invasive way to check the progress of labor. She said something along the lines of, “Well if the midwives’ tale holds true, I’d say you’re completely dilated!” I was equally relieved and deflated. Relieved because labor was intense enough that I didn’t feel like I could handle hours and hours more. Deflated because referring to it as a midwives’ tale was enough of a lack of confidence that I wondered it if could be trusted.

The hip compressions were simply amazing. Chris and Susan both helped support me in that way. Later, I asked Chris how often it was him doing the squeezing and how often it was Susan. He chuckled and let me know that every time I hollered for harder squeezes, it was him that was supporting me!

Maybe after 10-15 minutes, they asked if I would like to get into the tub. At that point, I was hesitant to move. Getting stuck in a contraction out of my comfort position would’ve been rough, I was sure. But, I desperately wanted to get in the tub. I really wanted it to be the miracle worker that I’d so often read about in other birth stories. Thankfully, Chris knew my desire to be in the tub, so he gently encouraged me.

Oh. My. Goodness! I’m so grateful he knew what I wanted and was able to help me along. That tub was absolutely amazing. I was scared it was going to be too cold/not hot enough, but it was blissful. I sank down on my knees with my arms draped over the side. The water was perfect and helped me to relax so very much. The bottom of the tub was slick enough that I was able to move my knees in and out to find the right position. I felt like I received a wonderful little break after getting into the tub. It may have only been a minute or two longer, but it was long enough for my head to clear a bit. It was also long enough for me to dread the next contraction… there’s definitely a benefit to labor land and just rolling with it and not over-thinking things! Later I asked if the break was due to the tub relaxing me or if I was experiencing something else I’d often read about – the little break that many mamas enjoy between the transition and pushing phases of labor. The ladies suspected it was a little bit of both.

Susan and Gina had been asking me for the last several minutes if I needed to push yet, but I hadn’t. Until it hit, and I knew I needed to. Chris sat in front of me, and I held his hand – or destroyed it rather. He had to ask me to lighten up at some while I was pushing, to which I wasn’t very receptive. I pushed big, long pushes. Apparently Gina suggested I slow down, but I was louder than she was! Chris told me later that Gina kept checking me and baby with the flashlight. I think she listened to Bumblebee’s heart rate a few times, too.

I felt her coming, and pushing on my knees was absolutely wonderful. SO much better than pushing from my back as I had with Poppy. In a rush of activity, baby was born, Gina told me to lean forward and grab my baby, and I lifted Bumblebee up out of the water and to my chest. Twenty-six minutes after returning to the birth center.

Elsie Jolie, minutes old. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Bumblebee, minutes old. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Pure bliss. I am pretty sure they had to tell me to check her gender. I was able to announce she was a girl! I kept repeating “sweet baby” and “you ARE a girl!” Poppy had been convinced, and her certainty slowly won Chris and me over, as well. A girl!

They helped me up out of the water and over to the bed. Chris crawled in beside us, and we soaked up those first precious moments. Bumblebee and I stayed skin-to-skin, and the whole atmosphere was so peaceful and joyful. No rushing around. No distractions. Gina monitored me as we waited for me to deliver Bumblebee’s placenta. It didn’t take too long in actuality, but it felt like it took longer than it did with Poppy. I’m not sure if that was simply my perception because of the slower-feeling pace in general, or if that was the result of an unmedicated after-birth experience. Gina examined it closely and explained how our sweet babe was nourished for the first chapter of her little life. She then checked the caul to find the break; it took some time to find! Bumblebee didn’t break my waters until I was pushing her out.

So much emotion for one photo! Photo by www.renetate.com.

So much emotion for one photo! Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Peeking at Mommy. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Peeking at Mommy. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

I don’t remember the specific order of things anymore, but within the first 30 minutes or so of Bumblebee’s life, her Grammy and her big sister arrived to meet her! It was so sweet to see my mama walk in with my first-born. Poppy’s was a look of overwhelmed observation, and my mama’s a look of pure joy and excitement! Poppy was so thrilled to learn that she had a baby sister, and she kept telling us that she had been right all along in guessing Bumblebee’s gender.

Retrospectively, there’s a funny story here. Apparently Chris had already texted my mama, “Baby’s here” while she was still driving. But, he forgot he did that! So, when they arrived, and he went to meet them to bring them back, he played it cool, thinking he was going to let them be surprised. 🙂 My mama still chuckles about that.

Big sister just taking it all in. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Big sister just taking it all in. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

My sweet mama so happy to meet her youngest grand baby. Photo by www.renetate.com.

My sweet mama so happy to meet her youngest grand baby. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

One of our first family photos as a family of four. Photo by www.renetate.com.

One of our first family photos as a family of four. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Me and my girls. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Me and my girls. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Our friend and photographer also arrived, bummed to have missed the birth but quick to capture all of those sweet moments we had together. I tried to be patient enough to let Bumblebee complete the breast-crawl, but after some time, I went ahead and latched her on so we could begin breastfeeding. Susan brought in a wonderful little tray of food – cheese, crackers, and apples – as well as some electrolyte drink. I couldn’t believe how wonderful I felt! I feel so blessed to have had two beautiful and perfect births.

After some time, Susan helped me to the bathroom so I could soak in an herbal bath for a while. It was during that time that Chris held Bumblebee for the first time. He cut her cord, and they weighed and measured her. Gina gave her a full exam. It felt like an eternity away from my baby, so I asked to get out of the tub. I got dressed in fresh clothes, and my mom, husband, daughters, and I relaxed in the family room as Bumblebee and I were monitored and checked every 15 minutes or so.

I love the clock included in this shot! Photo by www.renetate.com.

I love the clock included in this shot! Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Susan and Chris taking care of Elsie. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Susan and Chris taking care of Bumblebee. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Daddy and Elsie. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Daddy and Bumblebee. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Kisses from Daddy. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Kisses from Daddy. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Chris holding his new baby daughter. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Chris holding his new baby daughter. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

The first glimpse of Elsie that our friends and family saw. This was the photo I messaged to everyone.

The first glimpse of Bumblebee that our friends and family saw. This was the photo I messaged to everyone.

Waiting to be discharged.

Waiting to be discharged.

My mama's first time to hold Elsie, while we were waiting to be discharged.

My mama’s first time to hold Bumblebee, while we were waiting to be discharged.

Four hours after her birth, we were discharged from the birth center. It was around 7:00 when we walked out the doors and made our short drive to a Denver Tech Center area hotel for our first night. After we were settled into our room, Chris ran to get us all some food. He came back with some yummy sub sandwiches. We filled our tummies and then started to turn in for the night. Chris, Bumblebee, and I slept in one room while Poppy had a sleepover with her Grammy. Bumblebee slept great that night! She gave us about a 5 hour stretch which was so rejuvenating.

New sisters <3 Noelle's first time holding Elsie, at the hotel.

New sisters. Poppy’s first time holding Bumblebee, at the hotel.

My girls on Elsie's first morning.

My girls on Bumblebee’s first morning.

The next morning, we got ready for Bumblebee’s and my 24 hour appointment back at the birth center. Molly was the midwife who checked us over and then sent us on our way! We loaded up into our cars and head out of town after a quick stop at Chipotle (Bumblebee and I hung out in the car while the others ate 🙂 ) We then began the long drive home. I slept some, sitting in back with Bumblebee while Chris drove us safely home. I don’t think Bumblebee really stirred once.

Elsie and Mommy time while the others got some grub. (Yes, it's a selfie. No, I don't care. ;) )

Bumblebee and Mommy time while the others got some grub. (Yes, it’s a selfie. No, I don’t care. 😉 )

So tiny looking in her car seat!

So tiny looking in her car seat!

My awesome daddy was at our house waiting for us when we returned home. It was so special to introduce him to his new granddaughter!

My daddy meeting Elsie.

My daddy meeting Bumblebee.

That grin is worth a million!

That grin is worth a million!

The entire experience was such a blessing from the Lord. Every time I tried to make a suggestion about how birth should go this time, never once did I imagine essentially skipping active labor. He was so good to know exactly what we needed, and when. Birthing Bumblebee strengthened my faith.

Elsie. Photo by www.renetate.com.

Bumblebee. Photo by http://www.renetate.com.

Bumblebee was born in the water Friday, November 29, 2013, at 3:06 PM. She weighed 7 pounds 12 ounces and was 20.25 inches long. 

Consider this a stone of remembrance. God is good.

4 thoughts on “The Birth Story of Bumblebee

  1. Monica Neal

    Beautiful story.
    I gave birth in that same room and have a picture of dad and son in front of that clock, which I love also. Elijah Avery Neal – 11/15/11 – MMC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

