Telling Big Sister

That’s what Poppy is, you know. A big sister.

Our sweetie playing outside on a warmer day last month.

Our sweetie playing outside on a warmer day last month.

I know what that feels like. I couldn’t be happier to be my little brother’s big sister. He is, an has always been, an absolute joy. I can’t imagine having grown up without him.

The difference is, Poppy doesn’t know she is a big sister, and I wonder what she’ll think of the title when she is old enough to know. Of course, Lord willing, we might have added to our family above or below Poppy, and this may be a non-issue.

But for now, when I rock my two-year-old to sleep… When I smell her sweet skin… When I tickle her ’til we’re both breathless, I can’t help but wonder what things would be like.

*****

It can be difficult to think of my two-year-old as a woman one day. Yet, that is what Chris and I are to prepare her for: womanhood. I know beyond the shadow of a doubt that our experience will affect the way I teach Poppy about being a woman and a mother.

Our culture so easily dismisses and denies the blessing of a child, and yet, the Lord proclaims their blessing, indeed! I will remind Poppy that He alone directs her days and that should she follow Him with her life, she can trust that His plan will prevail.

I want her to know that the day she enters the gates of heaven, her siblings will be there to greet her. I want her to understand that she was only an “only” child for 11 short months… that half of our family resides in heaven.

I hope that learning about her siblings will make heaven a little bit more understandable for her. Life and death are normal parts of the human experience, and if we’re in the Lord, there’s nothing to fear. We can instead rejoice!

*****

This post reflects my scattered thoughts about bringing Poppy into this part of her family history. Regardless of anything else, though, I want her to know that she is loved. She is purposed to live on this earth. She has siblings in heaven awaiting a glorious reunion.

And, as she looks forward to motherhood one day, I pray she never ever doubts the blessing of a child.

Leave a Reply

