Adoption and Us

CKJ

Our early days…

Adoption runs deeply in both Chris’s and my families. Various friends and family members either were adopted or did adopt. Because of this and because of our desire to care for children through the blessing of adoption, we always assumed we would adopt one day. We had no idea when “one day” would come, but I subconsciously assumed it wouldn’t come for quite some time.

After losing Basil, I started to wonder if my assumption was wrong.

Two (and then three) miscarriages in less than a year turned everything upside down. We had wrongly assumed that adoption wouldn’t have a place in our early years as a family simply because we thought we’d have our hands and days full of biological blessings.

I started reading and learning so much, and I started seriously following Reece’s Rainbow in July after losing Basil in June. It has brought me so much joy to watch from afar the sons and daughters who are finding their way home. Praying over these children has been a blessing to me.

It’s easy from the outside looking in to think that we’re hoping to adopt because of our miscarriages. But, honestly, that feels so incomplete to me. First of all, adoption is something, as I mentioned, that has always been near and dear to our hearts. Secondly, adoption is important to our theology. As followers of Christ, we have been adopted into God’s family forevermore. And finally, adoption is just a separate decision for us than that of conceiving a biological child. Quite simply, there are children who need a family; and we are a family with more love to give. Adoption is not a back-up plan for us.

So where does that leave us now? We’re waiting. We’re waiting for God to throw open the door and pave the way for us. There are a few large logistical doors that time alone will open, but we’re prayerfully and humbly hoping to begin the adoption process in 2013.

We hope you’ll be along for the journey.

CKNJ

Us today

Have you ever considered adoption? Does adoption tell a story in your life? Leave a comment!

5 thoughts on “Adoption and Us

  1. tina

    Kami, after my husband and I had are second daughter we decided it best for our family to stop at two kids. Little did we know God qas going to bless us with our ten month old nephew to care for. I love this little guy to the moon and back…. He is our baby, and we couldnt be happier. God has his reasons for everything, and as long as we trust in him fully he will bless us with amazing miricals. We are praying for you and your family for strength and guidance through this incredible journey…….

    Reply
    1. Kami Post author

      Tina, thanks for sharing! I have seen the joy that little guy has brought to your family! What a blessing!

      Thank you for the prayers. We are do our best to trust Him each step of the way!

      Reply
  2. Laura perry

    I will pray for you guys. It makes my heart happy to hear this, as adoption has always been something that weighs on my heart, and one day Ethan and I hope to adopt several children from India.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Called. | For Good

Leave a Reply

