Quiet Books

I am so excited to finally show you all what I accomplished for Christmas this year!

I was finally able to make my daughter and my nephew a quiet book each. I say “finally” because I had hoped to make these last year for Christmas, and it didn’t happen. Frankly, though, I think the books are better suited for them at the ages they are now. A year ago, they might not have “gotten it” yet.

I scoured Pinterest for ideas – there are SO many good ones. I would probably have to sew 100 quiet books to do the “pinspiration” justice. I brainstormed and organized my ideas probably back in early October.

Because they are little (and because I’m really just a beginner seamstress), I decided to focus on the basics – zippers, buttons, snaps, etc.

Originally, I had loftier goals than what I ended up achieving, but I am so happy with them that I’ve forgiven myself. Also, I ended up making my nephew’s book slightly smaller. I also decided that because he’s a two-year-old active little guy that I would do my best to make him a great book but one without any removable pieces. Mission accomplished. I just didn’t want my brother and sister-in-law to be stuck chasing down tiny pieces!

I made Poppy’s without worrying about removable pieces – we’ll find out soon enough if that was a good choice or not. Hee hee.

So here they are!

Quiet books

They are made solely out of felt. I think that one day I’d like to find ambition enough to use normal fabric; but for now, felt seemed easier.

My daughter’s book:

Page 1 is her name, and page 2 is a ballerina slipper.

Page 3: Button flowers (with extra in the pocket). Page 4: A zipper lady bug whose spots are attached with snaps.

Page 3: Button flowers (with extra in the pocket). Page 4: A zipper lady bug whose spots are attached with snaps.

Page 5: A pie to weave. Page 6: Shapes to match, attached with velcro.

Page 5: A pie to weave. Page 6: Shapes to match, attached with velcro.

Page 7: Adjustable clock with button center. Page 8: Mailbox with spinning flag (attached with snap), velcro mailbox door, and pocket in the grass.

Page 7: Adjustable clock with button center. Page 8: Mailbox with spinning flag (attached with snap), velcro mailbox door, and pocket in the grass.

My nephew’s book:

Page 1 is his name, with the letters permanently sewn on. Page 2 is a tennis racket to weave.

Page 3: Football laces to tie. Page 4: A mailbox page just like cousin's.

Page 3: Football laces to tie. Page 4: A mailbox page just like cousin’s.

Page 5: A tent to zip. Page 6: A clock like cousin's.

Page 5: A tent to zip. Page 6: A clock like cousin’s.

I used button holes and metal rings to attach the pages. I considered using ribbon through the button holes, too, but decided to stick with the rings.

Bound with button holes and metal rings.

Bound with button holes and metal rings.

Originally, I had planned to use some fusible interfacing between the two pages, but I decided I liked the thickness and stability of the pages without adding anything to them. So, I trimmed them to match a bit, sewed a zig-zag top-stitch, and called it good.

For what it’s worth, I sewed my button holes in at 2 inches, 6 inches, and 10 inches.

Here are the links where I got my inspiration: nephew’s book and daughter’s book.

Thanks for looking! I hope to start making some more quiet books soon to help fund our adoption. Would that interest you?

3 thoughts on “Quiet Books

  1. Pingback: Fabric Gifts | For Good

Leave a Reply

